Via Francigena




Bed & Landscape Terre d' Acqua


Via Dionisotti 27 , Vercelli

Tel: 3898978896 - 3889537532 - 0161-700085



The Via Francigena or Romea, is part of a bundle of routes, also called Romee streets, which led from Central Europe, in particular from France, to Rome.

The pilgrimage to Rome to visit the tomb of the Apostle Peter, in the Middle Ages was one of the three major pilgrimages along with the Holy Land and Santiago de Compostela. The report Travel oldest dates back to 990 and is accomplished by Sigerico, Archbishop of Canterbury back from Rome where he had received the pallium from the Pope. The Archbishop English describes the 79 steps of his route to Canterbury, annotating them in a diary . The description of the path is very clear, only as regards staging points (Mansio). The stretch from Canterbury to Rome is on a journey of 1,600 kilometers that from Canterbury arrives in Dover to cross the English Channel; from Calais via Reims, Besançon and Lausanne comes to the Alps that are passed to the Great St. Bernard. Valle d'Aosta it goes down to Ivrea, then Vercelli. A route was also beaten quite what to Chambery through the Col du Mont Cenis in Susa came along and the Susa Valley, passing the Abbey of Novalesa and the Sacra di San Michele, he reached Turin and then Vercelli, from here on, with continued a unified route to the first. It also understands the importance that has had Vercelli as a center of the junction of North Street with the South which gathered pilgrims coming from Spain, Portugal and southern France.

Le Tappe

Tappa 01 - Dal Gran S. Bernardo a Echevennoz -Tappa 02 - Da Echevennoz ad Aosta -Tappa 03 - Da Aosta a Chatillon -Tappa 04 - Da Chatillon a Verrès -Tappa 05 - Da Verrès a Pont St. Martin - Tappa 06 - Da Pont St. Martin a Ivrea -Tappa 07 - Da Ivrea a Viverone -Tappa 08 - Da Viverone a Santhià -Tappa 09 - Da Santhià a Vercelli - Tappa 10 - Da Vercelli a Robbio - Tappa 11 - Da Robbio a Mortara - Tappa 12 - Da Mortara a Garlasco - Tappa 13 - Da Garlasco a Pavia - Tappa 14 - Da Pavia a Santa Cristina - Tappa 15 - Da Santa Cristina a Orio Litta -Tappa 16 - Da Orio Litta a Piacenza -Tappa 17 - Da Piacenza a Fiorenzuola -Tappa 18 - Da Fiorenzuola a Fidenza - Tappa 19 - Da Fidenza a Fornovo - Tappa 20 - Da Fornovo a Cassio -Tappa 21 - Da Cassio al Passo della Cisa -Tappa 22 - Dal Passo della Cisa a Pontremoli -Tappa 23 - Da Pontremoli ad Aulla -Tappa 24 - Da Aulla ad Avenza -Tappa 25 - Da Avenza a Pietrasanta -Tappa 26 - Da Pietrasanta a Lucca -Tappa 27 - Da Lucca ad Altopascio -Tappa 28 - Da Altopascio a San Miniato -Tappa 29 - Da San Miniato a Gambassi Terme - Tappa 30 - Da Gambassi Terme a San Gimignano -Tappa 31 - Da San Gimignano a Monteriggioni -Tappa 32 - Da Monteriggioni a Siena -Tappa 33 - Da Siena a Ponte d'Arbia -Tappa 34 - Da Ponte d'Arbia a San Quirico -Tappa 35 - Da San Quirico a Radicofani -Tappa 36 - Da Radicofani ad Acquapendente -Tappa 37 - Da Acquapendente a Bolsena -Tappa 38 - Da Bolsena a Montefiascone -Tappa 39 - Da Montefiascone a Viterbo -Tappa 40 - Da Viterbo a Vetralla -Tappa 41 - Da Vetralla a Sutri -Tappa 42 - Da Sutri a Campagnano di Roma - Tappa 43 - Da Campagnano a La Storta -Tappa 44 - Da La Storta a Roma